a portion of my own “shorter catechism”

Come, soak up these messages from God’s word with me. If you want, create your own “personal catechism.” Writing this list blessed me so much. The beauty and hope found in these basic truths is amazing, and never gets exhausted.

Some things to remind myself of frequently:

#1
Q: What does it mean to be a Christian?
A: To be a Christian means to trust Jesus Christ, his life, death, and resurrection, for salvation and to seek to be his disciple.

Titus 3:4-7, Acts 4:12, John 1:12, 15:1-8

#2
Q: Why am I a Christian?
A: I am a Christian because Jesus offers the only reliable answers to life and the only redemption, and because his resurrection backs up his claim to be God.

John 14:6, 1 Corinthians 15:12-20

#3
Q: How do I know God is good?
A: I know God is generous because he created me and sustains me every day, and I know he is good because Jesus Christ became a man and died for sinners.

Psalm 139:14, Romans 5:8

#4
Q: What is the meaning of life? What is the point in living?
A: The purpose of life is to love and worship God and to be loved by him. This is the glorious point of being human.

Matthew 22:37-38, Micah 6:8, Psalm 143:8

#5
Q: What is sin? What does it mean that I am a sinner?
A: Sin is rebellion against God; it is the worship of self or creation rather than him. It is rooted in pride and it separates humans from God and their God-given purpose. Because I am a sinner, I am in desperate need of the Savior, every day. By myself I am never “good enough.” Amazingly, God continues to pour out his mercy and forgiveness on me without fail, for Jesus’ sake.

Daniel 9:5, 18, Isaiah 59:1-2, 1 John 1:7-9, Psalm 51:1

#6
Q: What is grace?
A: Grace is the unearned free gift of God of himself and his benefits, received by faith.

Romans 5:1-2, 1 Corinthians 15:10, Isaiah 55:1-3

#7
Q: Why do people suffer? What good are trials and tests to Christians?
A. People suffer because of the wickedness of mankind and the fallenness of creation. In this world God uses suffering and trials to bring his people close to himself and to make them more holy and deeply joyful. A day is soon coming when God will recreate the world, removing from it all sin, pain, fear, and death, forever.

1 Peter 4:12-19, James 1:2-3, Romans 8:18-25, Revelation 21:1-5

#8
Q: What are my responsibilities to the world, along with the whole church of God, while I live on this earth?
A: My responsibility to the world is to reflect Christ to it; not to “be” Christ or the world’s savior, but to present to the world a reflection of the true Savior through all that I say and do. This means loving people, even people who hate me, living in holy community, helping the poor, defending the weak, seeking justice and mercy in all things, and above all sharing the gospel and making disciples.

1 Peter 2:12, Matthew 5:44-48, Romans 12:4-5, James 1:27, Isaiah 58:6-14, Matthew 28:18-20, 1 Corinthians 9:16, Colossians 4:5-6

#9
Q: How does God help me in my daily life?
A: God speaks to me through his Word to instruct and guide me; he answers prayer; he encourages me with reminders of his love; he gives me fellowship with other believers who possess wisdom and compassion; he even goes so far as to pour out his Holy Spirit into my life, who counsels and convicts me and enables me to live for God.

Psalm 19:7-11, Matthew 7:11, Psalm 25:8-9, Philippians 1:3-8, John 14:26, Romans 8:8-11

#10
Q: Why bother getting up in the morning?
A: Get up in the morning because Jesus has given life to you and has purchased you with his blood. Get up because he loves you and will never let you go. Get up because he is your Lord, Shepherd, Master, and Friend. Get up because he has given you things to do, missions to accomplish, and has given you the solemn promise to help and enable you, through his very Spirit living inside you, to do all that he has asked of you. Get up simply because today is one more day to be lived for the all-consuming, all-pervading, wonderful and unimaginable glory of God.

Ephesians 1:7, Isaiah 54:10, 2 Corinthians 4:5, Ezekiel 34:11-16, Galatians 1:10, Revelation 3:20, 1 Samuel 16:1, 1 Corinthians 15:58, Isaiah 43:1-7

4 thoughts on “a portion of my own “shorter catechism”

  1. Pingback: shorter catechism update | PRESSING ON

  2. Pingback: one year of blogging « pressing on

  3. Dude! thank you so much for putting up this post. it blessed me so much. its so good to be reminded of these simple, but so encouraging truths.

  4. Lyssa,

    This is amazing stuff! What a succinct expression of the Christian life, well written and complete. If this is a portion of your catechism, I’d love to see the rest!

What do you think?

