Lead Me To The Rock

Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

I’ve been mountain climbing desperately;
out of breath, building stairs of stones to nowhere,
ebenezers to my neediness.
Like Moses you gave me a glimpse of what will be,
what should be, what must be. I ache for the promised land, Lord,

Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

I want to bring the ark, I want to lead the band,
I want to build your name a temple with my hands,
in doing so I disregard your explicit commands
if you are not the rock upon which my feet are standing,
upon which my handiwork is built. My God,

Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

You have made the point well:
a shaking is coming that will show what stones are sturdy,
a fire that will prove what wheat is worthy.
Anything I build not built on you will fall, I know.
You are the sole foundation, security, and hope.

Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

Mountain climbing is irrelevant: stair-stepping,
rule-keeping, crowd-pleasing, all is vanity without you.
You save, and you justify, so I praise, and I glorify,
and it comes down to: I believe this work is worth it
because you are God, and you are good.

Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.

…and that rock was Christ. 1 Corinthians 10:4

5 thoughts on “Lead Me To The Rock

  1. Pingback: one year of blogging « pressing on

  2. This is an inspiring poem, Lyssa. I haven’t read Psalms in a while (LONG while I should say)…I studied it when I was in high school, like you.

    I’ve really enjoyed reading your blog…What do you think you want to focus on after graduation? You’ve been a mentor to many students in biology – Thank you!
    Maybe you’d like something related to teaching? 😉

    • Thanks for checking it out, Mrs. Hegemann. I want to be a missionary… church planting and Bible translation. I’ll probably focus on linguistics in college, and biblical studies. In the mean time I’m trying to get as much travel and cross-cultural experience/education as possible.

      I’ve definitely thought about teaching in the past! I bet it will come into play somewhere down the line. Teachers are wanted in most places, and English teachers are especially coveted almost anywhere.

    • I have been loving Psalm 61 for the past few days: “you have given me the heritage of those who fear your name” is another beautiful thought from that psalm.

What do you think?

