Waiting

I wait for the LORD, my soul waits,
and in his word I hope;
my soul waits for the Lord
more than watchmen for the morning,
more than watchmen for the morning. Psalm 130:5-6
I’m waiting:
waiting for freedom, for a spectacular burst.
I’ll know its appearing, though all I know now is the thirst.
Just a distant echo now, but how could not the symphony be grand?

Yes, I keep on waiting:
waiting for a new dream, a new higher plane.
My ladder is too short, my imagination too small, too sane,
but I’ve craned my neck way back and far outstretched my hand.

I’m waiting; I’m anticipating.
Who wants to know why? Who can say how long?
I wait for you. Exhausted, but still I’ll go on singing your song:
“Faint not. I come! like rest to a body, like voice for a melody, like rain for dry land.”

He who testifies to these things says, “Yes, I am coming soon.” Amen. Come, Lord Jesus. Revelation 22:20

3 thoughts on “Waiting

  1. Dear Lyssa,

    How beautifly expressed was you poem/song (i hope). The more I know of this world the more I long for my Savior’s return and the more marvelous His saving grace appears to me. It felt nearly as strong on 9-11 as I was waiting to hear from your family to return from Brittain. Glad you are back inspiring others with your writing.

    Love you, G

  2. Lyssa, I read your poem this morning and it really touched deep in my heart. I needed to read this and take the Word of God into my spirit. Thank you, I’m encouraged to “wait.”
    Love you, Mishel

  3. Oh yes! I am waiting too. And my expectation is still stronger now that my dad has unexpectedly stopped waiting. He is now there, where there is no thirst. He needs no ladder. How precious that you have caught the anticipation at your young age, sweet little sister. For too long I’ve been tied to the things of this earth. Heaven has become a sweeter place. I miss you, Dad.

What do you think?

