one year of blogging

I started this blog one year ago today, on February 16, 2011. At that time I picked two specific verses of scripture to guide and restrict my writing:
For what we proclaim is not ourselves, but Jesus Christ as Lord, with ourselves as your servants for Jesus’ sake. 2 Corinthians 4:5
Let us know; let us press on to know the LORD;
his going out is sure as the dawn;
he will come to us as the showers,
as the spring rains that water the earth. Hosea 6:3
I am boring; Jesus is fascinating. I am disappointing; Jesus never fails. Therefore I did not want this to be a confessional blog. I was convinced that a blog about Jesus, a blog that proclaims Jesus as Lord, would be, in every way, more interesting, stimulating, and helpful than a blog about myself, that proclaims myself as myself.
The name “pressing on” comes from a verse in Hosea’s book which speaks of pressing on to know God, knowing that he will not withdraw from us if we seek him. He will surely come. His coming is like morning’s light and morning’s dew: certain, life-giving, and awe-inspiring.
Draw near to God and he will draw near to you. James 4:8
I am convinced that scripture, every part of it, shows us the way to God. Therefore I have done my best to saturate this blog with the Bible, believing it to be the useful words of God to humanity. Undoubtedly I have written a number of posts that “flopped”; equally beyond doubt is that the inherent power of scripture, which is in every post, has saved me from total failure.
The 5 most popular posts this year have been:
Jesus once said, summing up the message of one of his parables,
One who is faithful in a very little is also faithful in much, and one who is dishonest in a very little is also dishonest in much. Luke 16:10
This blog is a very little thing. I trust that if I can be faithful in this, God will show me how to be faithful in other things, as he calls me to do them. You too, be encouraged – with real courage, that changes your attitude – to know that your monotonous faithfulness in the little things is precious to God, and that in the Lord your work is never in vain.
Therefore, my beloved brothers, be steadfast, immovable, always abounding in the work of the Lord, knowing that in the Lord your labor is not in vain. 1 Corinthians 15:58
Thank you for reading, and especially for commenting. No doubt many who read this blog are much wiser than me, and I really appreciate your input.
P.S. Soon, I hope to follow-up this blog’s first post with another outline of the gospel, from another vantage point. Be on the lookout for that.
What do you think?

