a brief word study

Inspired by Psalm 121.

Then the LORD said to Cain, “Where is Abel your brother?” He said, “I do not know; am I my brother’s keeper?” Genesis 4:9

He will not let your foot be moved;
he who keeps you will not slumber.
Behold, he who keeps Israel
will neither slumber nor sleep.
The LORD is your keeper;
the LORD is your shade on your right hand.
The sun shall not strike you by day,
nor the moon by night.
The LORD will keep you from all evil;
he will keep your life.
The LORD will keep
your going out and your coming in
from this time forth and forevermore. Psalm 121:3-8

[God said to Jacob, after Jacob’s vision at Bethel:] “Behold, I am with you and will keep you wherever you go, and will bring you back to this land. For I will not leave you until I have done what I have promised you.” Genesis 28:15

[The Levitical priestly blessing:] The LORD bless you and keep you;
the LORD make his face to shine upon you and be gracious to you;
the LORD lift up his countenance upon you and give you peace. Numbers 6:24-26

You keep him in perfect peace
whose mind is stayed on you,
because he trusts in you. Isaiah 26:3

[Jesus prayed:] Holy Father, keep them in your name, which you have given me, that they may be one, even as we are one. While I was with them, I kept them in your name, which you have given me. I have guarded them, and not one of them has been lost except the son of destruction, that the Scripture might be fulfilled. John 17:11-12

To those who are called, beloved in God the Father and kept for Jesus Christ… keep yourselves in the love of God… Now to him who is able to keep you from stumbling… Jude 1, 21, 24

What do you think?

