A Hymn

O Lord my God, when I in awesome wonder

Consider all the ways I screw it up and let you down

All the times I kill my joy and rob your storehouse

All the days I lag behind and come home empty

Then sings my soul, how great you are.

O Lord my God, when I in painful moments

Take time to think back on the things I could have done

The thousand days of giving up your graces

The lazy nights of overfeeding all my faces

Then sings my soul, how good you are.

O good God, though my strings are un-tuned,

And my rhymes can feel a bit forced,

And my meter is stubbornly off,

I’m a hymn you’re composing:

Derived from theology

Mixed with my psychology,

Writ in profound honesty,

Leading to doxology.

2 thoughts on “A Hymn

What do you think?

